Dear J
HomeAboutBlogReviewsChart

Move over Now That's What I Call Music... here comes jua-no-mix!

August 6, 2024

So as you may know from my previous blog post, I recently got a car!! While I'm very excited to have my own method of transportation that will for sure come in clutch in situations where I need to be somewhere but don't have anybody take me there, the reality is that my car is a little old. It's not ancient, but it has its years. It's from 2012 to be exact, which might not seem like too long of a time ago, but considering how a new car literally comes out every single year, that's still a decent amount of time. What's interesting though, is that my car doesn't come with Bluetooth connectivity... which is weird because i'm pretty sure Bluetooth was around in 2012 but whatevs! It does have an AUX input and a CD player which i'm ECSTATIC about, so much so that i went out of my way to make a mix CD with some songs I have saved on my computer!!!

  1. Ivy ♡ Left 2 Right
  2. Britney Spears ♡ Hold It Against Me
  3. Tomomi Itano ♡ Dear J
  4. Namie Amuro ♡ Stranger
  5. Maki Goto ♡ What is LOVE
  6. Ayumi Hamasaki ♡ Sparkle
  7. Lady Gaga ♡ Poker Face
  8. Ami Suzuki ♡ can't stop the DISCO
  9. Dannii Minogue & The Soul Seekerz ♡ Perfection
  10. CHUNG HA ♡ Stay Tonight
  11. Beyoncé ft. Lady Gaga ♡ Video Phone
  12. SWEET BLACK ft. Maki Goto ♡ Lady-Rise
  13. Namie Amuro ft. Yamashita Tomohisa ♡ UNUSUAL
  14. Ayumi Hamasaki ♡ Lady Dynamite
  15. Ivy ♡ Touch Me
  16. Selena Gomez ♡ Slow Down
  17. Tomomi Itano ♡ Ai ni Pierce
  18. Demi Lovato ♡ Neon Lights

I definitely went for a very clubby, party vibe with this mix, and inadvertently also made it with songs or styles of songs that would be popular in 2012! I didn't really have that specific intention, I just picked songs that I thought had a similar vibe and would go well together. I'm very proud of this mix, even if it's merely a playlist that I burned onto a CD. It feels much more personal and was so much fun to use songs that I specifically have in my iTunes library rather than just chucking a bunch of Spotify recommendations into a playlist that I'll barely listen to.

Apart from making this mix, I also stored a bunch of the CDs i own onto this CD car case I had stored in my closet that previously belonged to my mom... I'm planning on switching out the albums every so often; you know, depending on what mood I'm in...

I'm sooooo excited at the possibility of putting my CD collection to good use. Lately i've been feeling pretty frustrated with Spotify, for a variety of reasons. For starters, so many artists with older, lesser-known, or foreign catalogs may not have all of their music on Spotify, if at all. This forces me to use their god-awful Local Files system which you can tell was designed specifically to have the least amount of people using it as possible. On top of that, the people behind Spotify are a bit... shady, to say the least. From their questionable politics to their shoddy treatment of artists, I'm not paticularly thrilled with Spotify's actions as of late. I haven't outright cancelled yet, though, because I don't consider my collection to be substantial enough just yet, and also I'm a sucker for scrobbles and I just have to make sure that whatever I listen to is properly registered in my Last.fm but ANYWAYSSSSSS!! I do plan on trying to slowly move away from relying solely on Spotify as my main music source at the very least, and now that I have a job I can hopefully use that money to beef up my music collection a bit. I could use ... "other means" but personally, I just prefer the joy of owning physical copies of my fav music; not knocking on anyone who does get their music this way, though! *wink*

Finally, I wanted to share my mix with you guys!! Of course, since a lot of the songs aren't on streaming and I can't really ship out a hard copy of it to every one of you (and frankly i'm just too lazy to make a new playlist on here rn, i will at some point tho!), I thought the best option would be to make a Youtube playlist of it! Some of the song versions might be a bit different, but you get the general gist of it and you also get to watch the cool vids for a lot of the songs!! Let me know what y'all think! :)

xoxo,

 Back to 2024 posts
 Back to all posts
 Back to year selection