Dear J
HomeAboutBlogReviewsChart

New addition to my collection!!

July 10, 2024

This week, I received something in the mail...

Get Into You by Dannii Minogue!! This is one of her 3 (4 if you include the original Oz version of her debut) to not be on Spotify (at least not where I live) so it's a treat to have it so I can further get into Dannii's discography... hehe. This particular edition is the 2009 deluxe reissue of the album which features 2 CDs that are housed in a different style of jewel case (iirc it's called "super jewel case"?) that feels much more substantial and robust than a regular jewel case, which is nice because that means it's sturdier and doesn't break as easily. Unfortunately, it did come a bit broken, but it's only really on one corner; the rest of it looks fine. I did get this used since it was more affordable, and the sender didn't really mail it in the best packaging... it didn't even come in a box, it came in one of those mailing bags... they couldn't even get one of those with bubble wrap?? Anyways, the discs actually work which is all that matters. Curiously, because of the style of the jewel case the album comes in, the discs came stacked on top of each other rather than on a swiveling tray like most other 2-disc non-Ayu sets I own.

Pretty collage included in the booklet of the album!!

As far as the songs go, it comes with 17 songs on the first disc (13 from the original album + 4 bonus tracks) as well as 13 on the second disc, which are all remixes and alternate versions of songs featured on the first disc. With 30 total tracks, it's a nice little package! I've listened to just the first disc so far, and my thoughts on the album are that it's fine, but it's definitely at the bottom of my Dannii ranking so far. I'm not gonna go too into depth on my thoughts here, though; you're gonna have to wait for the full review!! ;) I will say this though, it was very clear that she was channeling Janet here, and who can blame her? Janet was at the top of her game at this point in time, so she was definitely gonna inspire a lot of the girls. Maybe Dannii was even one of her first sons! LMAO

I'm glad I own this!! I definitely plan on getting Dannii's other albums + she has a very short discography compared to her sister + I also have her debut Love and Kisses coming in sometime this month, so that really just leaves me with 3 (or 4) more to get. Speaking of Dannii albums, I've begun to work on my long overdue Neon Nights review, so stay tuned for that!! Expect it to come sometime in the following weeks, however I may work a little slower on it because i've been working on some things in my life which you might've already read about in my previous posts, which I'm very excited about... But anyways, that's about it for now!! I'm leaving y'all with this absolute summer bop from Get Into You... THISS ISSSS ITTTTTT!!!!

xoxo,

 Back to 2024 posts
 Back to all posts
 Back to year selection